Debt management plan

Options
Hi all. I’m new to this so hope you can help.

After being caught in a cycle of debt my whole adult life and it affecting my mental health for years I am finally considering taking out a debt management plan. I would appreciate some insight from anyone who’s been down this path. Is it a viable option?

My main worry is that I have an existing mortgage with my husband. Can I do a DMP without it affecting our existing mortgage? Its another 2 years before we have to renew.

I am also hoping a DMP will be an opportunity to stop having access to credit and to start addressing my pattern of behaviour and attitude to money. I have real, long standing  issues around it and can’t even talk to my husband - or anyone - about money. Can anyone recommend any counselling or has anyone any advice on this? I just want to get my life back 

Comments

• Suseka97
    Suseka97 Posts: 1,562 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    I would suggest you have a chat with one of the debt charities, such as Stepchange or National Debtline - to talk through your situation.  Depending on how much you owe and what your financial position is - there are various options out there, including DMPs.  If you head over to the DMP Mutual Support Thread, that will give you lots of insight into the process and people's experiences.  It's definitely worth a read if that's what you ultimately decide to do (after having taken advice).