Does no documents mean no debts?

Hello everyone. This is a bit of a (actually a lot of a) long shot, but many years ago, due to job losses I defaulted on loan payments. I wasn't in a particularly good place at the time and didn't deal with it as I should have.
The lender asked Drydensfairfax to take out a CCJ against me, which they did and I've been paying it for several years and the loan amount is also secured against the property.
So I was looking through some paperwork recently and at the time I must have written to them asking for a copy of the original documentation for my records  and this was the reply they sent at the time,
'Unfortunately our client is unable to provide a copy of the original account opening document. As the account relates to a fixed term loan our client is also unable to provide a recreation of the document.
We refer you to the County Court Judgement dated 30 May 2013 and urge you to contact the County Court Business Centre, quoting the claim number ********, if you wish to challenge the validity of our client's claim.'
at the time I took it that since a CCJ had been taken out, that meant it was legally binding and I gave up quite easily. I'm guessing that now I've left it too long to try and challenge anything or even if I could to be begin with.
Does anyone have any advice as to whether I should just carry on paying it and clear it eventually, or is there anything I could do appeal the decision, or ideally, get them to remove the charge from the property?
Thanks for any advice you can give.

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,870 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 11 August 2020 at 12:10PM
    Hi,
    Why did you not defend the claim on the basis the creditor could not provide correct paperwork in 2013 ?
    That was your moment, then your second moment came when you could have applied for a set aside on the same basis.