Forum Home» Employment, Jobseeking & Training

I'm a LTD Company sole Director - what happens to all my assets when the company closes?

New Post Advanced Search

I'm a LTD Company sole Director - what happens to all my assets when the company closes?

10 replies 493 views
AshG1992AshG1992 Forumite
5 posts
First Post
MoneySaving Newbie
Hi, pretty much all in the title. Due to the current Covid situation a lot of business, including me, are considering closing down. 
I'm a graphic design freelancer set up as a LTD company. I had been trading less than a year before the outbreak of covid so I haven't been able to claim a furlough.
I've purchased computer equipment up to an excess of £2000 during my time working - what happens to this if I decide to close down my company?

Thanks for any help.

Replies

• bap98189bap98189 Forumite
    3.8K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    Does the company owe any money? If so then the equipment should be sold to pay the debts. If not then it is yours.
  • ACGACG Forumite
    20.7K posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper I've helped Parliament
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Does the equipment belong to you or the company? 
    If it belongs to you, then it is your asset so it would not be used to pay off any debts. 
    If it belongs to the company then it would potentially be used to cover any debts if there are any. But it depends on what the company owes. Also bare in mind if you have paid yourself any dividends, those would likely need paying back to the company. 
    I am a Mortgage Adviser
    You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a mortgage adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • AshG1992AshG1992 Forumite
    5 posts
    First Post
    MoneySaving Newbie
    ACG said: