Vanguard LS SIPP - 14 years to Go..

Options
Just before the virus I started putting £240 a month into a VLS60. Topped up to £300 a month with tax relief.
I'm a novice investor who no longer works (I've just turned 51), and I've already have enough secure investments/cash/property etc for a decent retirement.
So the £240 a month isn't an issue if the markets go pear shaped between now and retirement.
Considering the low relatively low amount I'm investing, and the 14+ year time frame, I'm thinking I may as well just go for potential maximum returns and change to a VLS100, or at least a VLS80, and that the VLS60 is playing it too safe.
I may as well have a bit more risk with the £240 a month which I can afford to lose.
Is my thinking flawed in anyway? Thanks.

Comments

• AnotherJoe
    AnotherJoe Posts: 19,622 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 13 May 2020 at 10:07AM
    Options
    Thats what id do especially since  the money isn't a huge deal to you *and* the timescale isn't fixed, the upside considerably outweighs the downside.
    FWIW I dont see any point going for VLS80. All or nothing.
    One other point, can you put the whole £2880 in in one go? Statistically that will give a better return because as well as your money, you have all the tax relief in near the start of each tax year.
  • RolandFlagg
    RolandFlagg Posts: 171 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Thanks for confirming what I was thinking.
  • Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    edited 13 May 2020 at 12:05PM
    Options
    When do intend to access the pot? 
  • RolandFlagg
    RolandFlagg Posts: 171 Forumite
    Options
    Probably when I'm 65. 14 years.
  • Thrugelmir
    edited 13 May 2020 at 2:19PM
    Options