I need help. Bankruptcy discharged mortgage 2nd job”

00ewisD00ewisD Forumite
9 Posts
First Post
MoneySaving Newbie

Hi all.

Where can I start. I’m new to this. I’ve got couple of questions. 

“Bankruptcy discharged mortgage 2nd job”

I was made bankrupted on the 4 July 2018   By the HMRC due to a 70k debt which didn’t include other debts. I haven’t got any confirmation that I’ll be discharged from bankruptcy. 

Here’s the time line

• declared bankruptcy 4 July 2018

• Appointed trustee 24 October 2019

When will I know if I’ve been discharge and when can I check when and if it happened. This year 2020 I check on the IS website and my name isn’t there. What does that mean? 

Also, if I’ve been discharge does the same rules apply for over the bankruptcy period? 

If I’ve been discharged can I get a second job and will I have to do a IOF and pay to my debtor who I owed money to before I went bankrupt? 

But I had a letter October 2019 the person name been appointed as trustee with effect from October 2019. 

When I was made bankrupt the OR asked me to fill in a IOF and I filled in in and gave them all my income and outgoing and I didn’t have enough surplus income? 

If I get a second job now if I’ve been discharged will I have to give the surplus income? I wouldn’t mind if I did. I don’t want to break any rules. 

Am I allowed to get a mortgage now? 

Can I get a Sole buy to let mortgages and what will the deposits be? 

Can I get a Joint mortgages with my partner and what will the deposits be? 

Also, will I get any notification via email or phone call? will I hear from anyone again? Do I just "crack on" for next 5 years before my credit file reverts? 

After the 6 years period how long will it take for my credit score to go back to good? 

What does discharge from bankruptcy mean?