Working from home tax relief

Options
Hi there, 
I am a field service engineer for a photocopier company. 
Although predominantly working out at customers sites, my home is classed as my office (which allows me to claim business miles to and from my house) and as such there is a certain amount of work I undertake at home.

I have to charge my company laptops and phone every night as well as pick up my calls for the day in the morning and close down calls when I get home in the evening. As well as the occasional online training that I do. 

I put a claim in for working from home tax relief and it was rejected, does anyone think this is worth appealing? Do I do enough at home to class as a home office?

Any advice would be much appreciated. 

Comments

• comeandgo
    comeandgo Posts: 5,751 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    You would be regarded as a mobile worker, you start from home and travel to your clients. I don't think there is any taxable help for mobile workers.
  • oldbikebloke
    oldbikebloke Posts: 1,096 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    what reason did "they" give for rejecting the claim and how much did you claim? We ain't mind readers.

no idea what a "mobile worker" is? In my view your contract of employment requires you to work "from" home, you have no other permanent place of employment, so you should be entitled to use of home.
  • Magice2648
    Options
    what reason did "they" give for rejecting the claim and how much did you claim? We ain't mind readers.

no idea what a "mobile worker" is? In my view your contract of employment requires you to work "from" home, you have no other permanent place of employment, so you should be entitled to use of home.
    They just listed the criteria in a letter:
    One that each and every employee would have to incur in that employment
    Necessary for you to incur the expense
    Incurred and paid