2»

Comments

• cgk1
    cgk1 Posts: 1,300 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    emmany said:
    cgk1 said:
    I'm currently an academic - I decided to become an academic - neither 1 nor 2 applies to me. 
    What were your other choices at the time if you don't mind me asking?
    I was an IT consultant established in my career and fancied a change.
  • fred246
    fred246 Posts: 3,620 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    When we moved into our current house we used to have big parties with the neighbours. The houses are all reasonably big so most people had good incomes. It was fascinating talking to people about how they made their money. The footballers were just good at football. Their agents and advisers handled the money side. The lawyers and doctors weren't necessarily into money they just got paid well and bought an appropriate property. The business people were obsessed with money and obvioulsy only took jobs if they were well paid. A lot of them did get their jobs by chance though. The one thing I would say is just keep moving on. If you are stacking shelves for a minimum wage and are doing a good job you could be there for life. It is up to you to move on to something different. No-one will do that for you.
  • StaffieTerrier
    Options
    I researched the career I wanted then went out and got the relevant qualifications and experience. 
  • eamon
    eamon Posts: 2,319 Forumite
    Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 6 April 2020 at 12:22PM
    Options
    Meanwhile some of us after over 30 years in the workplace still have no idea what we want to do.
  • epm-84
    epm-84 Posts: 2,723 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Options