New Post Advanced Search

Child maintenance - blast from the past

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Child Support
13 replies 1.3K views
CuriousGirlCuriousGirl Forumite
22 posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Child Support
Sorry, is going to be a long post.

Two days ago, out of the blue my husband received a scary worded letter from Child Maintenance department ordering urgently to pay them £6k with £1300 being in arrears and threatening to take him to court in case he doesn’t, sending bailiffs, repossessing our property, suspending his passport and driving licence and so on.
Which was a total shock for both of us as at the moment my husband is self-employed, closing his business and about to start a new job in three weeks’ time. For the last year and a half we are living totally on my income as his business has become not profitable and that was the reason why he is about to start a new job. I am a highly qualified professional with a good job and a good pay but at the moment all my money going toward our debts ( mortgage and house improvement). We were hoping that things become much better once he starts the job as he will be employed by a government body with all the security attached.

We have been married since September and have known each other for over three years, we love each other and we have no secrets from each other. It is not the first marriage for both of us, both of us had been married before and have 6 grown up children between us ( 4 are of his and 2 are of mine). Needless to mention that all the kids are over 19, have their own lives, some have children of their own and not in any way depend on us. My husband’s kids from his first marriage are 32 (not his biological child, never been adopted formally but my husband had raised him as his own), 30 and 27. Plus he has a daughter with one of his partners, she is 21, engaged and has a child of her own.