PRINCE2 - Help!

Options
tommytucker7182
tommytucker7182 Posts: 5 Forumite
edited 27 January 2020 at 6:54PM in Employment, jobseeking & training
Hi Folks,
Im a project manager, but no official "formal" PM qualification to my name, apart from a module in my degree.
I was a project coordinator in Australia for 3+ years, at varying stages of the project life cycle, and im now a project manager in the UK for past 2 years.
I completed a PMI CAPM course in 2017, but found it very bureaucratic - by the time i had finished all modules the CAPM exam was changed to a different version - so i never sat the exam.
Im looking to do a PRINCE2 qual since a lot of recruiters seem to ask for it - but when you google it there seems to be an awful ton of dross out there regarding PRINCE2 qualification. I dont want the 2 day "cram the exam" course.
Has anyone done PRINCE2 that can give me some pointers - seems hard to find even basic information about it. Should it be as simple as "prince2 for dummies book" + a groupon course for P2 foundation, then pay for a practitioner course later?
I dont mind paying for quality, but only if necessary. Id like to learn something in the process of doing PRINCE2 thats practical and useful for project management, if thats possible given the nature of the content!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
If anyone has any course provider recommendations (if allowed under forum rules?), id appreciate it also - the amount of ads you get shown when you google prince2 is rather disconcerting!

Comments

• ANDY597
    ANDY597 Posts: 430 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Debt-free and Proud!
    Options
    I've done Prince 2 foundation and practioner over a weeks intensive training including the exam with the knowledge academy, classroom based.

Cost was circa 1k but the work paid for it, the issue is the exam is usually not included in Groupon e learning etc.