PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

It's my first time budgeting for food and I feel lost and overwhelmed

Options
2»

Comments

• dreaming
    dreaming Posts: 1,139 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I'd start with keeping till receipts, that way you've got an accurate record of where you're going. Personally I'd start a massive spreadsheet, but that's just me - it doesn't have to be a complicated process. Once you've figured out how to shave a couple of quid off the weekly bill, then more inspiration for savings should follow

I love a spreadsheet too:) If you pay for groceries by card then look at your statement(s) for the last couple of months to see how much has been spent in the supermarkets. Or if you pay cash see how much cash you withdraw each month. This is only half the story though. I have always tracked my spending but noticed that "food" was creeping up so started to look at the receipts and reaslised I had got into the habit of buying a book here, a magazine here, even things like packs of socks which are often good value. So I started to put the figures in the proper categories on my spreadsheet and realised my food bill was not too bad but I was spending in these other categories. I was ok with that but at least I knew where the money really was going. I also realised that I have so many books unread that I have instigated a bookbuying ban until after Xmas (at least).