Mortgage offer yest but questions...

Good afternoon

Yesterday we were told that we have finally had our mortgage application signed off. They are going to send the offer out but I have two questions

1. Do you receive the offer by post or email and how long do they take to send

2. There are no hard searches from our mortgage company only a soft search from 4th Jan when we got our DIP and yest both saying credit quotation
I was expecting a hard search now. Is that normal?

Many thanks

Annie

Replies

• kingstreetkingstreet Forumite
    37.9K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    1. Dunno. Varies from lender to lender.

2. Checked all three versions of your credit file?
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • Normally the offer is a letter to your solicitor which is forwarded bro you. I say normally very loosely.

Otherwise it will be a letter that you will need to wet sign
  • kingstreetkingstreet Forumite
    37.9K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    When our client's offer is issued, we send them (and their solicitor, estate agent/builder) an email which reads;-
    Just a quick note to confirm the issue of your Halifax mortgage offer today.

The offer will be mailed out to you and your solicitor, taking a few days to arrive. Please check it on arrival and if you have any queries, please don’t hesitate to get in touch. From this point, your solicitor will be handling the legal aspects of the purchase to enable you to exchange contracts as soon as possible.

Expiry date 31/12/2019

or...