Credit card help!!!!

Options
Hi guys,
This is my first time on here so bear with me! Firstly let me just say this website is a boon, I’ve referred to it many times so here’s hoping it can help me again via this forum.
My issue is I have 2 credit cards which I owe on and currently just paying off the minimum payments on both . Trouble is, the balances just don’t seem to be shifting and I’m sick of paying this and not getting anywhere!! I’m considering getting a personal loan, for maybe 5 years at the cheapest interest rate I can find , to completely pay them off totally. I have ‘tarted’ a few times with credit cards but I still can’t seem to shift the balances on the 2 cards. I’ve provisionally worked out that I could pay off the loan in 5 years at lower monthly payments than just paying the minimum payments on both cards (the minimum payments are all I can currently afford at the moment). If I balance transfer both cards to one 0% card will the minimum payment on the new one be more than what I’m paying now ? Not sure I want to keep tarting cards as I don’t want it to affect my credit score.
Amounts as below on the cards;
ASDA – £6824.68 APR- 19.9% CURRENT MIN PAYMENT= £172
VIRGIN- £5659.55 APR- 17.48% CURRENT MIN PAYMENT= £86.99
Any help would be greatly appreciated, just want some light at the end of the tunnel!!
Thanks

Comments

• Kidder81
    Kidder81 Posts: 98 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I don’t think you need help with credit cards per se. More help with being a debt free wannabe.

I say this as you’ve tried reducing the balances through balance transfers and by your own admission the balances haven’t reduced.

You need to complete a statement of affairs and look to make savings to pay towards your debt. In the meantime you need to look for ways to reduce your interest payments. Maybe another balance transfer and cut up current and new card?
  • NoTB
    NoTB Posts: 33 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options