Which professions do you think are overworked/underpaid? Similarly which are well paid?

Options

Comments

• Nicki
    Nicki Posts: 8,166 Forumite
    Options
    I’m a lawyer and I definitely have to be on call at anti social hours, work nights and weekends and do more than a 40 hour week and have done since I was newly qualified. Lawyers don’t get paid overtime for this either so you need to compare your actual take home pay with their published pay to get a true comparison.

Lots of professional jobs come with deadlines which means that there will be long hours, weekend work and antisocial hours attached but possibly not predictably rota’d as in the medical profession.

However a medical degree will be a passport to a range of graduate jobs so if you don’t like your current and projected future earnings OP and think the grass is greener elsewhere, just stop being a doctor and do something you perceive as better paid for the time commitment
  • Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    theoretica wrote: »
    According to this the average earnings for a GP in 2016/7 were £92.5k. https://files.digital.nhs.uk/05/386344/gp-earn-exp-1617-rep.pdf

Which doesn't reflect that many will be working part time, so the full time equivalent figure will be more than £92.5k.

Also, the figures only include those earning under NHS contracts, so those who are fully freelance or locums won't be included either - these again will be earning more than contracted GPs, so if you included them, again, the average would increase above £92.5k.
  • FBaby
    FBaby Posts: 18,367 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    dont think its fair to use gross salary including weekend work if others dont have to work on a weekend ..