£10500 dmp

edited 17 November 2018 at 7:11PM in Debt Free Diaries
6 replies 663 views
Velvet99Velvet99 Forumite
5 Posts
edited 17 November 2018 at 7:11PM in Debt Free Diaries
I’m 19 and I’ve managed to get myself into quite a lot of debt. I recently contacted PayPlan and have set up a DMP.

I work part time as I’m a student. I do 25 hours a week and have to go into university 3 days a week. My income is roughly £850 a month so I’ll be paying £125 a month to the DMP.

There are 7 creditors, some with both credit cards and loans: Capital One, Tesco, NatWest, Pounds2Pocket, 118 Money, Aqua and Barclaycard.

So far, I’ve sent out the 30 day breathing space letter to all of the creditors, CapitalOne and Pounds2Pocket have replied and said they’re happy to freeze the account and will then deal with PayPlan. Nothing from the rest of the creditors yet unfortunately.

I’ve definitely been sleeping a lot better since I spoke to PayPlan, I’ve written out a budget and downloaded Money Dashboard app so hopefully I’ll be able to save a little bit.

I know that I’ve got myself into a mess but I am trying my best to sort this out.

Replies

• OnebrokeladyOnebrokelady Forumite
    5.7K Posts
    1,000 Posts Third Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    Happy new diary and well done on sorting out your debt while you are still young and studying too,does your uni have a student hardship fund,my daughter used this a couple of times when she was at uni,it didn't pay loads but every bit might help,do you not get a maintainance grant for living expenses
    Do you have any family who could help you out
    I can't think of anything else off the top of my head,hopefully someone will be along with some more ideas for you
    Original Debt Owed Jan 18 = £17,630 Paid To Date = £4,316 Now Owed = £13,301.77
    Emergency Fund = £1000 Xmas savings = £800
    House Fund = £700
  • OnebrokeladyOnebrokelady Forumite
    5.7K Posts
    1,000 Posts Third Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic