Noticed some changes? You can read all about the improvements we've made on the Forum in our latest announcement. We also have a new set of Forum rules so please take the time to give them a read and familiarise yourself.

Made overpayments, had letter reducing my payment amount

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Mortgage-Free Wannabe
8 replies 556 views
indierocker85indierocker85 Forumite
2.1K Posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Mortgage-Free Wannabe
Hi guys

I am new to the mortgage boards and the MFW board....so "Hi"

We recently completely on our first property and have a 5 year fixed mortgage of £132000 at 2.51% which allows 10% overpayments a year

I have been using the Vertex mortgage calulator spreadsheet thanks to a board on here and have overpaid around £4200 in the first two months, and according to the calculator, we have knocked a full year off our mortgage and saved £3427 in interest over the mortgage lifetime...We now owe around £127,260 ish....but I anticipate more overpayments to be made, as we journey towards MF life.

Our monthly payment was £592.34

I have today received a letter from Skipton advising us that as we now owe less, they are reducing our payment to £573.85....I presume this is so the duration is still 25 years.....Will this result in us paying more interest than we would had it stayed at £592.34? Will it make any difference? Should I contact them and advise I wish for it to stay as is?
Live for what tomorrow has to bring, not what yesterday has taken away

Replies

• indierocker85indierocker85 Forumite
    2.1K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    I have added the revised interest rate into my spreadsheet, and lo behold, it brings the term back up to 25 years and eliminates the 1 year gain, and the interest savings too.