High Risk of Shortfall - sell or hold?

Options
Hi,

I’m looking for some advice on an endowment which I hold.

I have 7 years left on the policy, which is a with-profits sub-fund.
I pay in £70.24 every month and it was originally taken out to pay off around £42,000 of a mortgage.

The current surrender value is approx £24k and the fund value is approx £14,600 (final bonus being the difference).

If we assume the low rate projection, the endowment will have a shortfall of £13k, when it matures (current low rate projection is approx £28k).

This was a Friends Provident endowment, which has since been sold on to Aviva.

I contacted Aviva to ask about the Moetgage Endowment Promise, having read about it on the forums here, but they didn’t know what it was, so they’re going to forward my enquiry to another team, who will update me.

I’ve been receiving varying predictions of shortfalls since only a 3 or 4 years after I took out the policy, but just never did anything about it.

The related mortgage was long since paid off.

Questions:

Should I persevere with this or sell up now?

If I sell, is there any way I can get more than from Aviva?

Is it likely that I could get any compensation or have I missed the boat?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Comments

• Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    If you've yet to pay £70 * 12 months * 7 years = £5,880

Forecast value vs current surrender value suggests your money may be better utilised elsewhere, i.e. pension.
  • alexeix
    alexeix Posts: 24 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    That’s what I’ve been thinking.

In terms of compensation, is that still an option?
    I have no idea if I would be eligible, but given that I started receiving shortfall letters within a few years of taking out the policy, it would seem that I may have been mis-sold the policy.
  • dunstonh