Forum Home» Mortgage-Free Wannabe

Getting a loan / credit card to overpay on mortgage?

New Post Advanced Search

Getting a loan / credit card to overpay on mortgage?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Mortgage-Free Wannabe
3 replies 512 views
mcc86mcc86 Forumite
48 posts
Eighth Anniversary 10 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Mortgage-Free Wannabe
Hello,

I'm in my first year of paying my mortgage, therefore as you can imagine the maximum amount I can overpay (10%) is far greater than I could ever dream of. I could however afford to pay that over a 3 year period.... which got my thinking..... is there sense in getting a loan to overpay by 10%?

A colleague of mine has just got a loan for £9,000 and they have simply have a direct debit for the next 3 years and are paying back a total of £9,450. By overpaying £9,000 on your mortgage in the first year, you would be saving much more than £450 on your mortgage.

Or alternatively, get a credit card that is interest free for 2 years (they do exists from time to time).

Obviously this does only work if you can afford to pay back both your mortgage, and the loan. Based on the MSE mortgage overpayment calculator, it seems to indicate that by paying a £9000 lump sum in Year 1 (of a 25 yr mortage, you would save £5,000 in interest alone.

Am I missing a trick? Surely I am, otherwise many other people would be doing this.

Replies

• A_Frayed_KnotA_Frayed_Knot Forumite
    3.2K posts
    Fifth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    I thought the very same when I started o/p the mortgage. Seems simple . . . But, there's always a But . .
    You would need to make sure an overpayment to your mortgage counts in the credit card kingdom. I know you can pay bills/food/clothes etc etc, but to take out/pay mortgage might mean they class that as taking cash, which would mean for some c/c's a No, No because would then charge interest big time.