Civil Service Pension cost of living increases

Options
Probably a simple question, but I am struggling to find a clear answer on the web.

I am in my 40s and I am thinking about leaving my job in the civil service. My pension currently has two parts: a 'preserved' final salary component, which I accumulated over a period of around 12 years; and a new 'alpha pension' that I have been contributing to since 2015.

If I leave/ resign now (well before the scheme retirement ages), what will happen to the value of these pensions by the time I can claim a pension(s)? Clearly inflation will erode their value, but I have found some references to 'cost of living' increases which adjust the pension amounts payable to compensate for inflation. For example, if the 'final salary' component is currently estimated at £10,000 a year when I retire based on my current salary, will I receive that amount down the road, or will I receive £10,000 adjusted for cost of living increases, which I imagine will be substantially higher? Is the 'alpha' scheme similarly adjusted after you leave the scheme?

And finally, historically have the cost of living increases been similar to inflation (CPI?) increases. Are the increases for recent years listed anywhere?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• hugheskevi
    hugheskevi Posts: 3,877 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Car Insurance Carver!
    Options
    Both the final salary and alpha pension will increase each year in line with inflation after you leave.

Inflation is currently measured by the September CPI figure (uncapped).
  • hyubh
    hyubh Posts: 3,532 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    john19792 wrote: »