Alternatives to Stakeholder Pensions

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Pensions, Annuities & Retirement Planning
3 replies 490 views
brianfallbrianfall Forumite
28 Posts
Part of the Furniture 10 Posts Combo Breaker
Hello, I'm a newbie so be kind!

I have £27k in a Virgin Stakeholder Pension that tracks the FTSE ASX. It charges 1% in fees, which seems like a lot for a passive fund.

Any suggestions for a good alternative?

I'm a higher rate taxpayer, I am 45 and don't plan to retire anytime soon. I have 12 years contributions into a NHS pension, so this is just a little extra fund.

I'm wondering about AVCs? Are there pension tracker funds out there that give you more of a spread of different countries (and at what point do these kind of funds switch from being passive to actively managed?). If you were to go for a fund that tracked a combination of different countries economies, how would you go about deciding what proportion of your fund to allocate to each country?

Thanks!

Replies

• dunstonhdunstonh Forumite
    106.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    I have £27k in a Virgin Stakeholder Pension that tracks the FTSE ASX. It charges 1% in fees, which seems like a lot for a passive fund.

It was good on pricing in 2001 but by 2005, it was out of date on pricing.
    It was bad investing from the start as single sector investing (whether passive or managed) is bad quality investing.
    Any suggestions for a good alternative?

Depends on how you intend to buy as the DIY options are different to IFA.

Your DIY attempt in 2001 has cost you more than using an IFA.
    I'm wondering about AVCs?

Mostly obsolete nowadays although a few gems still exist.
    Are there pension tracker funds out there that give you more of a spread of different countries (and at what point do these kind of funds switch from being passive to actively managed?).