Slow and steady wins the race (we hope!)

124»

Comments

• Rach273
    Rach273 Posts: 82 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Accepted an offer on the house today, just a smidge below asking price, fingers crossed for an uneventful sale 
    "It’s all about balance, do you see? Balance is the trick. Keep the balance and—” She stopped. “You’ve ridden on a seesaw? One end goes up, one end goes down. But the bit in the middle, right in the middle, that stays where it is. Upness and downness go right through it. Don’t matter how high or low the ends go, it keeps the balance.”
  • Rach273
    edited 3 August 2020 at 11:11AM
    Wow it's August already, how did that happen?! 

I have been working from home for five months now, its gone by so quickly, but doesn't look as though they want us back in the office anytime soon. I am so fortunate to have a relatively secure job, I can only imagine how stressful job hunting in the current climate would be. The lock down has severely limited my ability to make any additional income outside of work although I did get my all time highest payout of £32.18 from Prolific last month.

House sale is progressing rather slowly, finally got a memorandum of sale issued on the 29th July, but my ERC drops from 3% to 2% on October 1st so any delays could mean a saving of £1,200 or so - every cloud!
    Partner's house due to go on the market at the end of August, but we haven't been to see anything ourselves yet - I am still worried about falling in love with a house and loosing out because of our sales falling through so would like to wait until my buyer has commissioned the searches etc.

I'm not prioritising over payments as i'd rather save the money towards fees and costs of moving, but even so this month will see my balance drop to £123k meaning i have paid off £12k in just under 3 years which I'm pleased with.