Old employer owes me money!

Hi Guys, I'm new to all of this.
Basically I was working in a call centre for this insurance broker from february 2018 to june 2018. I resigned on 4th june via email (had to move city for personal reasons so never went back there to give them the letter). I was paid my final salaried wage on the day my employment terminated. I started working for Yell.com a few weeks later and I was paid a few quid from them the end of june. I understand that being paid twice in 1 month means i would of used my personal allowance and therefore would of needed to pay a bit of extra tax.

however, I have just been paid (end july) and noticed a lot of tax being deducted from me. I rang the tax man and was informed that its because CONSENGA had paid me again the beginning of july. I explained i no longer work for them and haven't had a payslip nor any money go into my bank account. I was advised to log into my HMRC account and them I saw it, they had told the tax man that they had paid me £178.85 and the tax said -£161.80. The guy at HMRC advised me that this meant they have told HMRC that they have paid me £340.65, which has used my allowance for july aswell and i havent even been paid this money!

i sent an email to the HR department but can't find a number anywhere for this company (think theyre a bit dodgy) and no one has replied to me as of yet. I called another former colleague who also left the same time as me and she has told me that the same thing has happened to her! they have said she has been paid £4 plus tax of -£172.

Where do i legally stand with this? as the tax man is now taking money off of me because they think i havent paid enough tax and i never had this extra money in the first place!

Comments

• sangie595
    sangie595 Posts: 6,092 Forumite
    You, who simply didn't bother to turn up to work one day and couldn't be bothered handing in your resignation letter (or working your notice?) think they are dodgy? Astonishing....
  • Ult86