Moving to Dundee- Renting

clkaz
clkaz Posts: 487
First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Forumite
Hey guys,
Logged back on here after ages. Always find it useful here for advice.
I'm a junior doctor moving to Dundee for work come August. I'm looking for somewhere to rent and I can't see anything that I like (well within my budget of £450ish). Looking for a 1 bedroom flat, ideally with Gas heating and cooker. Have looked at buying but have debt I'm paying off so it isn't feesible and not wanting to pay too much so I can save!

The West End seems to be where I would like but I can see the majority of places there are student type places which don't seem to be well maintained. Without sounding stuck up, I'm not too keen on living in a student-type flat.

Just wanting an idea of when I should start looking if I want my flat for mid July to give me time to move in properly. Also, what areas to look at. I drive so am willing to stay 10-15 min drive from the city centre if it means I can find somewhere a bit more modern/contemporary.

Comments

• missile
    missile Posts: 11,679
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    There are some very desirable areas in and around Dundee. Others are .... not so nice :(

I would suggest you ask your colleagues at the hospital. Have you asked HR? I would have thought they will be able to assist?

Good Luck :beer:
    "A nation's greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members." ~ Mahatma Gandhi
    Ride hard or stay home :iloveyou:
  • koalakoala
    koalakoala Posts: 744
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    How did you get on?
  • clkaz
    clkaz Posts: 487
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Hey Koala

I actually resigned from the job.
    I decided I didn't want to move from Glasgow, and I'm much happier for it :D
    I've done the whole move where ever you get an offer thing for university, not going to do it for work.