Options
2»

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,770 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    No. Your conclusion is incorrect.

If you port, sale & completion is concurrent so no ERC would be payable.

If you don't port, you will pay the whole fee on the sale and redemption. You will get half back if your purchase completes within three months.

There is nothing more to it. Concurrent sale and purchase without a port still means pay it all and get half back. Just perhaps getting the half back a bit faster!
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • kingstreet
    Options
    thehoorays wrote: »
    So it seems like the first option is better? Sorry for the probably obvious questions! First time selling for me, and never had any personal loans, etc, so it's all a bit over my head!
    Without knowing the difference in the rates for the port & top-up versus the new product for the whole mortgage, there is no way anyone here can establish if it's worth paying all or even half the ERC.

Why not get a decent broker and get this done for you?
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • thehoorays
    Options
    thanks, so is porting better? <- sorry, posted at same time as your last post
  • kingstreet
    Options