Leaving new job?

Options
Hey guys,

I'll try to keep it as short and simple as possible..

About 5 months ago I started at this construction firm as a general builder, my hours are good and usually the standard 8-5, my pay is decent and the conditions are generally good. How ever, this is a very,very small company, a long with the owner there are only two of us working which as you can imagine if we were both off sick, the work stops. Any way, I was told today that the site I currently work on for him, we don't need to be back for a few weeks and as such he isn't sure I will have work all of next week, which will then be unpaid time off. Now this is just a blip as I see it..but this is also now the second time this has happened in the past 2 months or so, so it can be a bit of a worry not knowing if you're going to be getting a full pay or not. In general my boss is a great person to work for and as I said it's a very easy going environment etc and the work is good..when it is there.

One of my old work colleagues contacted me today with a job opportunity, but it is not in my local area. I will have my own van and tools etc, but will be working from Newcastle, covering up to Scotland, Liverpool, Manchester and London as a service engineer (my previous line of work). This will obviously include some nights out/stay overs. The pay will be the same or a bit better, but I won't be using my own transport so I save on fuel, and the work is more or less a stable and guaranteed thing from week to week.

I think my main sticking point is I feel guilty if I take it, after having only been here for a short while, and in general I am trying to weigh up the pro's and cons for both. Any general advice, if it was you?

Thank you for reading

Comments

• DCFC79
    DCFC79 Posts: 40,598 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Take the other job, it looks like its more constant work. What made you leave your last job for a job as a general builder ?