Becoming a private tutor- all questions here

Comments

• So I've just started private tutoring, through a rather circular route.

I have a Biology Degree from Oxbridge. My (preferred) job is only available part-time (3 days per week) and so I have started teaching in an international school for the other 2 days. My hours at school are going down for a couple of months, so I checked a local information website, someone was looking for Biology tuition, I answered, I start next week. It also turns out someone who graduated with me has just got a hectic job and is looking to get rid of his tutee, so I'm going to be picking up two keen A-level retake beans.

Now it might just be that I still live in (prestigious) university town, but private tutoring is rife here. My general tips on secondary tuition would be:

For any subject _except_ maths, you'll need a degree in the subject. Maths seems to be a special case as so many people need tuition, so people seem to get away without a degree but with lots of experience.

Remember things have changed since you were at school. Make sure you check exam board websites for specifications that show exactly what each student needs to know (different exam boards are like different brands of GCSE, just like ketchup, they're subtly different. Hence the suggestion to stick with one school where possible -they'll all be on the same brand) and splash out on some new text books to make sure you're teaching modern methods/knowledge.

One student comes to my house (on a night when my boyfriend is out, makes me clean up!) I go to the other students house - unless you have a preference you can negotiate this with each student.