Lowells Solicitors

Options
There's probably a few posts on this but just wanted some advice.

I have received a letter from Lowell solicitors that claims i owe about £800 to O2 from a contract in 2009/2010.

I've moved house a couple of times so this is the first I know about it but lowells claim they have a CCJ for the amount and are demanding payment of £50 a month.

Another forum I saw recommended writing to them to ask for proof of the CCA and send a £1 postal order which I did, however i just received a response saying that as the case has been to court and the court were satisfied they have no burden to prove the CCA. As I wasn't aware of the original case and have no recollection of the debt I'm not sure what to do. I am currently a full time university student so funds are tight.

Someone else recommended I contact Northampton County Court Bulk Centre to try and get the judgement set aside, I've found a few numbers for them but they all seem to be dead.

Can anyone help? just started a new relationship and don't want people knocking at my door.

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,974 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 15 January 2018 at 1:54PM
    Options
    Hi,

Good old Lowell, unfortunately they are 100% correct, once a debt has had court action taken against it, the requirement to provide proof no longer applies, they are only required to send the claim form to your last known address (something which is hopefully changing).

Your options now are limited, in order for a successful set-aside application to happen, you need to have a reasonable defense, examples being, either its not your debt, or the amount is incorrect, or some other valid reason.

Also a set-aside application costs £255.00, (remission is available on the fee for low income earners) you are also expected to apply within a reasonable time frame, so if its been years since judgement, you may be wasting your money.