We’d like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum.

This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are – or become – political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

📨 Have you signed up to the Forum's new Email Digest yet? Get a selection of trending threads sent straight to your inbox daily, weekly or monthly!

Is this site a scam?

I have found a decent price on an item I want to buy at this website:

https://salonsupplies.co.uk

Problem is I can't find any reviews for the site. It is not on trust pilot etc, so a bit reluctant to hand over my debit card details without knowing it is legit.

Comments

  • If you have a look on their 'contact us' page you'll see that they have 11 branches and 1 warehouse. I doubt that a scammer would have this many fake premises when their existence can be easily checked on Google Street View or by paying a visit.


    https://salonsupplies.co.uk/contact
  • custardy
    custardy Posts: 38,365 Forumite
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    did you see they are trade only?
  • BorisThomson
    BorisThomson Posts: 1,721 Forumite
    1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    custardy wrote: »
    did you see they are trade only?

    And the prices are excluding VAT.
  • If you have a look on their 'contact us' page you'll see that they have 11 branches and 1 warehouse. I doubt that a scammer would have this many fake premises when their existence can be easily checked on Google Street View or by paying a visit.


    https://salonsupplies.co.uk/contact


    I looked on Google street view but did not see any of their premises. Also they don't have the company number / registration details displayed on their website which is a legal requirement.
  • custardy
    custardy Posts: 38,365 Forumite
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    I looked on Google street view but did not see any of their premises. Also they don't have the company number / registration details displayed on their website which is a legal requirement.

    https://salonsupplies.co.uk/terms-and-conditions

    listed in their T&Cs...
  • custardy wrote: »
    did you see they are trade only?
    I wouldn't let that put you off. My mother use to get her bottles of hand cream and body lotion from her local branch of Sally's and she's never been trade. Yes, the 0844 number is trade only, but they all have individual local numbers and as long as your money is good/legit I can't see a business turning down a sale (even a small one).
    I looked on Google street view but did not see any of their premises. Also they don't have the company number / registration details displayed on their website which is a legal requirement.
    custardy wrote: »
    custardy, you beat me to it.


    chilswelluk, I agree that the Chichester, Northampton, Southampton and Truro branches don't show up on Street View (mainly because they are down back/side streets), but the others do.
This discussion has been closed.
Meet your Ambassadors

🚀 Getting Started

Hi new member!

Our Getting Started Guide will help you get the most out of the Forum

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 354.8K Banking & Borrowing
  • 254.5K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 455.6K Spending & Discounts
  • 247.6K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 604.6K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 178.6K Life & Family
  • 262.2K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 16.1K Discuss & Feedback
  • 37.7K Read-Only Boards

Is this how you want to be seen?

We see you are using a default avatar. It takes only a few seconds to pick a picture.