Pension Pot

Options
I have a pension pot of around £500,000,through the electrical supply industry, that I have been paying into for 29 years.I am aware that I cannot cash in until I am 55 for a monthly income,I am 46 at the moment.Can I withdraw this pot and invest it elsewhere for upto 10 years,if so what would be my best bet ?

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,394 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    .I am aware that I cannot cash in until I am 55

Any thought of cashing that in would make you a nut case.
    Can I withdraw this pot and invest it elsewhere for upto 10 years,

yes and no. You cannot withdraw the pension. However, you can transfer it, subject to IFA advice and invest it if its a sensible thing to do.
    if so what would be my best bet ?

If you cant answer that then its probably best that you dont.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • ewaste
    ewaste Posts: 279 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    Is the pension Defined Benefit or Defined Contribution?
  • bostonerimus
    Options
    You need to tell us a lot more. Please describe your pension in detail.
    “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”
  • K_E_A
    Options
    Hi there

I'm in a Defined Benefit Pension Scheme in the electricity industry. I'm 55 and waiting for my transfer quote. It's my intention to retire early on receipt and work part-time for myself.