Council Vs private sector wwyd?

Options
I need some assistance from the collective wisdom of the local board. I applied (on a whim) for a local council job which came up a few months ago. I was unsuccessful but shortlisted on the reserve list. They have now contacted me to say a position has come up. It is a SO2 level role (not quite sure where that falls in the heirarchy of things). I work in the private sector in a fairly niche discipline and have been at the company I work for since I graduated (10+ years). I am generally happy there (occasionally it's a bit stressful, but generally it's not) and have a good degree of flexibilty in my hours - it is a good company to work for and I like my colleagues. The only downside is that i have a 40 mile commute each way which takes over an hour each way and often more in heavy traffic. The council job is around 6-8k pa less salary, but is 10 miles from home, about 15 mins in the car - I could even cycle it (exercise is largely absent from my life atm due to long commute and small children). I know very little about the public sector, all I hear are bad things such as lots of people taking stress leave. Holidays would be the same, though would increase another 5 days after 5 years whereas they wouldn't where i currently work. A big attraction is that the employer pension contributions are much much better in the public sector. For the same money I could drop to a 4 day week in my current role... but long term is the council a better bet, would my salary quickly rise? (private sector salary rise has averaged around 1% per year over past 10 years, there were several years during the recession when it didn't rise at all but now we are through it things have picked up a bit and i can probably expect to go up £500-1000 per year.) I just don't know what to do! Where I currently live I don't know anyone locally. Having a local(ish) job might give me the opportunity to have a social life near home too. I'm in such a dilemma... can