Maternity Leave Question

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Boost Your Income
4 replies 1.2K views
vixpotsvixpots Forumite
2 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Boost Your Income
Hi there,

I'm a secondary school teacher, going off on maternity leave in November.
I currently also teach Irish Dancing at the school I work at (Free of charge at the minute, during lunchtimes).
I'd like to continue to teach Irish dance during maternity leave to boost my income. I'm thinking a couple of classes a week, earning roughly £400 per month initially.
Would this affect my SMP? And would it be worth doing with tax?
There aren't any other Irish dance classes in my area, so it has the potential to become quite successful - Is there a limit to what I can earn in order for it to be worth my while? (I.e, not affecting SMP, paying too much tax)

All help/advice greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Kayalana99Kayalana99 Forumite
    3.6K Posts
    I've been Money Tipped!
    ✭✭✭✭
    Pretty sure you can't sorry. If you start working for yourself or another employer you would lose SMP.

http://businessplusbaby.com/2010/12/13/self-employment-during-your-maternity-pay-period/
    People don't know what they want until you show them.
  • WizzbangWizzbang Forumite
    4.7K Posts
    Seventh Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Rampant Recycler
    ✭✭✭✭
    vixpots wrote: »
    Hi there,

I'm a secondary school teacher, going off on maternity leave in November.
    I currently also teach Irish Dancing at the school I work at (Free of charge at the minute, during lunchtimes).
    I'd like to continue to teach Irish dance during maternity leave to boost my income. I'm thinking a couple of classes a week, earning roughly £400 per month initially.
    Would this affect my SMP? And would it be worth doing with tax?