Another public sector golden pension

Options

Comments

• PeacefulWaters
    PeacefulWaters Posts: 8,495 Forumite
    Options
    You have been badly let down.......but not by the public sector! You've been let down by Gordon Brown, greedy companies who took pension holidays in the good times and corrupt bankers who caused a stockmarket crash. I worked in the private sector and the public sector and received very similar pensions from both as when I took my private sector pension it was also a final salary pension. I completely agree with you about people taking redundancy and/or retiring and then returning to work on larger salaries than they had before but that also applied to the company I worked for in the private sector at the time I took redundancy.

Not taking payment holidays would have incurred huge tax penalties.
  • chucknorris
    chucknorris Posts: 10,786 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Muscle750 wrote: »
    Someone i know just took early retirement from the civil service took £80k lump sum off to sunny places for next 3 months and is going to carry on doing a 3 day week when they return for more than if they carried on working FT and left the pension. And the last contact i had with my pension in the private sector was informing me of a loss in the fund overall virtually wiping out the previous 12 months contributions.one word......................JOKE ...........end of.
    We along with many others i know working in the private sector feel badly let down

If it is so good, why didn't you work in the public sector? Surely that omission is your error of judgement isn't it?
    Chuck Norris can kill two stones with one birdThe only time Chuck Norris was wrong was when he thought he had made a mistakeChuck Norris puts the "laughter" in "manslaughter".I've started running again, after several injuries had forced me to stop
  • Muscle750
    Muscle750 Posts: 1,075 Forumite
    Options