Retraining ideas after University as I can't get a decent job

Options
Hi,

Two years ago I did a degree in Youth Work at University, and afterwards managed to get a job in my field. After I was assaulted on the job though, I lost confidence and decided I didn't want to work with kids in a youth setting anymore.

I've since been working in a shop, but I've been struggling to get any other jobs because I'm not qualified, and I don't have any office based experience.

I've been thinking of doing some retraining, but it all looks really expensive, and I've gotten a bit lost looking at all the options.

I don't have any specific career in mind, I'd ideally like to work Mon-Fri, 9-5 or similar, in an office based job.

I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of retraining that would be worthwhile doing as it would get me a job in a field that is employing. My worst nightmare is that I pick something and then find that there aren't any jobs at the end of it!

I did consider a PGCE, but my degree makes it difficult and my A-Levels aren't in any of the subjects I'd want to teach.

Any advice would be gratefully received as I'm a bit lost. :/

Comments

• WibblyGirly
    WibblyGirly Posts: 470 Forumite
    Options
    What about working in a school as one of those people who supports kids who need extra help?
    School Careers advisor? Counsellor? Is it that you don't want to work with children at all or just specific situations, such as the one you were in when assaulted?
  • hh28
    hh28 Posts: 5 Forumite
    Options
    Yeah I did try for a few of these positions, but the only ones that came up in my area were taken by other more experienced Youth workers :( That's why I thought retraining entirely might be a good idea!
  • DCFC79
    DCFC79 Posts: 40,598 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    What about working in a school as one of those people who supports kids who need extra help?