Clearing my debt/ extra cash for driving lessons and buying a car

Hannahtaylor70
Hannahtaylor70 Posts: 2 Newbie
edited 23 April 2017 at 8:18PM in Boost your income
Hi all,

I'm a newbie and genuinely grateful if anyone has any advice.

I have £1500 debt on a virgin credit card. The 0% rate runs out in August so I have applied/ been accepted for a 42 month sainsburys 0%balance transfer card as of this weekend. I intend to shift the debt and continue to pay at least the standard monthly dd and make overpayments when I can.

My job is salaried and I earn £16320 pre tax a year. After rent and bills it doesn't leave much. I also have a bus pass of £77 per month for work. My parents live in the next county and expect me to come home roughly every 2-3 weeks at £20-40 per trip on trains.

I have considered a second job but this would A. Anger my parents as I won't see family for a few months at a time rather than 2-3 weeks. B. Take up my evenings and weekends and gym time.
C. Leave me exhausted, cranky and possibly effect my work in my main job.D. leave even less time to start driving lessons and pass. The only real benefit is that there would be a little more cash in the pot.

Does anyone have any suggestions for part time work that is flexible and pays properly.
I probably wouldn't be interested in make up (as a brand rep) as I can't even find a foundation shade to match my whiter than white skin ( I can't really endorsed a product that leaves me looking like an oomph loompa).

Thanks

Comments

• asajj
    asajj Posts: 5,123 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Rampant Recycler
    If your parents want you see that often, perhaps they can help with the cost of travelling?
    You can also start looking at your expenses and see if there is any scope to cut down some of them.

What sort of things you can do?
    ally.
  • My expenses are already cut down as far as they can go.