Mystery Shopping - recommendations?

Options
Hi- this is my first posting ( I have been a lurker for several months) so I hope someone can help. I work part time as a sales assistant but due to the threat of redundancy for OH I wondered if mystery shopping was something worth thinking about for me to do. I have no idea of who is reputable etc but having been on the receiving end of mystery shoppers (yes we know who you are!) I thought it might be something I could do as well as my current job.
I would be grateful if anyone could point out the pros and cons and also reputable companies.
Many thanks, Dee.
Not Buying It! 2015

Comments

• jo_b_2
    jo_b_2 Posts: 7,123 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I don't think you'd be able to earn enough to make a living from mystery shopping alone. :confused:

I'm registered with the Arcadia group. They pay you £10 per mystery shop but you do have to buy an item instore. More for fun than for profit. :)

You can register to be a mystery shopper for the Arcadia group here:

http://www.counterintelligenceaba.co.uk/arcadia/
  • blindman
    blindman Posts: 5,659 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Register at this site to get the low down re mystery shopping, merchandising and auditing.

Read the simple rules and be nice.

IMHO it's not possible to earn a living MSing as the pay is usually very low (£5) for jobs but merchandising and auditing can reap better pay ( I think)
  • telly-addict
    telly-addict Posts: 525 Forumite
    Options
    I have used Retail Eyes and Grass Roots Group with no problems, but as others say, you are unlikely to make a living doing mystery shopping alone. The maximum fee I have been paid is £12.

http://www.retaileyes.co.uk/login/index.php

http://www.grg.com/
  • margaret_3
    margaret_3 Posts: 1,123 Forumite
    Options
    There is another one that people use for hotels but I can't remember the site.
  • Dee2