BTL am I claiming everything?

Options
I'm a total novice renting out house for last 2 years and have filed tax returns for me and hubby. Thanks to another member i now know that I claim mileage on my trips back to the house to check in order. This has got me thinking am I missing anything else and hoped you kind people might part with a bit of advice.

The house in unfurnished but with white goods so I dont think I can get help for wear & tear. However, its never been decorated as was a new build at purchase.

Currently I include the interest charges on my mortgage, repairs, letting fees and admin costs, house insurance and gas safety certs.

Is there anything else apart from the above and the mileage?

Also next year due to a change in my circumstances I won't use the whole of my personal allowance so can I transfer the balance to my hubby?

I've tried calling the tax office and find that although helpful they refer you back to the help sheets and I'm just not sure! The last thing I want to do is get on the wrong side of the tax man - so any advice would be greatfully received.

Thanks in advance Helliecopter xxxx
LMB 01/03/08£9001.61 £10/6 6089.70 - 32%paid off!
Grocery Challenge 25/6 to 24/7 €350 week1 €30-46 / €87-50

Comments

• fengirl_2
    fengirl_2 Posts: 4,530 Forumite
    Options
    Whoever told you that you could claim travel to and from the property is incorrect. HMRC's view is that the income commences at the door of the property, not at your home, therefore the cost of getting to the property is not an allowable deduction.
    I can't see anything missing from your list of what you are claiming. I would always open a separate bank account for letting or business income and make sure all the income and expenditure goes through that - in that way you won't miss anything.
    You cannot transfer your unused personal allowances to anyone else.
    £705,000 raised by client groups in the past 18 mths :beer:
  • silvercar