DMP Mutual Support Thread - Part 12

Options

Comments

• EmergencyNurse
    Options
    NewbieNat wrote: »
    As my name suggests, I am new to DMP land, My first payment to SC is next week. I just wanted to reassure others just starting out. Please don't be sick with worry about contacting creditors, to tell them of your financial difficulties. I was in such a state I took a day off sick from work (my first sickie in 2 years) to call all 10 of my creditors. It really wasn't a traumatic experience at all, they were all matter of fact about it, well they would be as it's their job! I think SC or whoever your DMP is with can do this for you if you are starting your DMP right away. I needed to start that EF before I signed up, so called creditors & asked for the 30-day breathing space, which most extended for a further 30 days. It really isn't awful at all, they are just people doing their job. Take a deep breath, pick up the phone and get it over and done with. In the grand scheme of all things, its just phone conversations. You can then relax in knowing you have taken the first step to eventual financial freedom. :-)

Hi NewbieNat, its great to see how much more confident and positive you are now after all your previous worrying. Well done, keep it up!:T
    Debt March 2018 £27,596:eek: DMP Start June 2018 Debt Free Date 2023:T:T:T Debt July 2020 £14,700 Debt July 2021 £9300
  • NewbieNat
    NewbieNat Posts: 61 Forumite
    First Anniversary
    Options
    Hi NewbieNat, its great to see how much more confident and positive you are now after all your previous worrying. Well done, keep it up!:T
    Thanks EmergencyNurse, I really am much more positive now :D Oh boy, I was so worried, I was worried about worrying, and when I had a worry free day that worried me :rotfl:
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,923 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    Mcqueenm wrote: »
    Hi All,