Thanks to those who participated in our 'Ask An Expert: Scams' event. Scam expert MSE Katie's video answers are available to watch on the board now.

Mortgage advice please

Please be gentle, It's my first time !
I have £ 62,000 owing on my current mortgage (16yrs remaining) and would love dearly to clear this asap. I will be leaing my current job in under 5 years having completed 22 glorious years in HM forces. I have calculated that on my current deal I will still owe approx £ 52000 in 5 years. I will be receiving a lump sum payment of £ 43,000 the day I leave and approx £ 500 cash in hand a month.
Are there any mortgage products around that will allow me to pay off more of the capital sum in the earlier years and hence clear what I will owe ??.
Is overpaying the only possibility?. What about swapping to a secured loan??. Will this allow me to pay off more of the amount outstanding in 5 years??. I really dont know much about it all.
I am not currently tied in to any mortgage product.
Help.
You guys are the experts.

Replies

• sammyjammysammyjammy Forumite
    6.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    You might get more replies if you put this in the mortgage section, a mortgage is a secured loan. Most mortgages these days let you pay off up to 10% of the balance on an annual basis.

Sam
    "You've been reading SOS when it's just your clock reading 5:05 "
  • Hi C.allen34, I have just arranged a separate standing order to pay off extra off a barclays tracker mortgage which i can change at any time. It would probably be an idea to speak to a mortgage consultant about this and get some proper advice. I'm not realy a fan of barclays (just a woolwich customer who they bought out) but their mortgages are quite flexible and this is useful when you want to tinker with upping payments etc. Look at their website barclays.co.uk. Hope that helps.