Actifry...or imilr....any experience/views/recommendations?

PrinzessileinPrinzessilein Forumite
3.3K Posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
✭✭✭✭
I have, unexpectedly, been given a little cash to but myself 'a little something' for the kitchen.

I am a keen cook, but disability means that I am limited with what I can do these days....no sharp knives for me...and cooking with hot-fat is downright dangerous for me and the whole of the building!

I don't own a hotplate....getting by with my microwave and my mini-oven.

One thing I have really missed is stir-frying....I really used to enjoy Chinese/Thai style stir-fries....

.I was looking online for inspiration and found that an Actifry can do a stir-fry! (I had never really thought of this before!)...Has anyone here had any experience of this? From what I can see, you don't need to stand over the pan and stir the ingredients (which can be troublesome for me)...just place the ingredients in the fryer close the lid and switch on - (which I can manage!)

So, does anyone have one of these fryers?....Are they any good?....Worth the expense? (I am a single woman who mainly cooks just for one) - The stuff I have read online makes the fryer look brilliant - but I'd rather know what Old-stylers here, with practical experience of one would say!

Replies

• edited 30 December 2016 at 3:08PM
    TiddlywinksTiddlywinks Forumite
    5.8K Posts
    I've been Money Tipped!
    ✭✭✭✭
    edited 30 December 2016 at 3:08PM
    I don't have an Actifry so can't comment on how well they do a stir fry but I'm wondering what it is about a standard wok that you can't use as the same may well apply to using the Actifry.

Giving more detail about your disability may help people give you more advice.

As to air fryers in general - I have the Halo:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Breville-VDF105-Halo-Health-Fryer/dp/B00KIO2LC8/ref=sr_1_4?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1483110203&sr=1-4&keywords=halo