Student sorting it out early...

Options
Hi everyone! This is my first post here, so if I am doing anything wrong please let me know. I'm hoping this diary will give me some form of motivation to keep things up and get my situation sorted before it gets worse.

So, I'm a student at University, in my second year and my financial situation has gone gone hill drastically lately.

Just a bit of background firstly, last year I had a lot of financial help with it being my first year, plus a paid internship, and a job, I had several thousands more in my pocket. Whereas this year, I have had to do an unpaid internship, plus I was transferred to a zero hours contract with work and haven't been able to find any other employment. I have been living this past year in the financial sense of last year.

Unfortunately this means I've wracked up about....
- £1,500 of credit card debt
- plus I'm about £1200 into my overdraft.
- & I've had to dip into my savings and I want to replace that money in my bid to recover things before it gets any worse!
So approx £3000 in debt (& another £2,000 to replace my savings) :eek:

So, I've had a mooch round these forums and I've signed up for YNAB, and set it all up. I've worked out that I've been drastically overspending BUT I have a budget and if I stick to that I will be able to start getting things back on track.

Does anyone have any ideas of things I can do in the meantime?

Comments

• adamjm96
    adamjm96 Posts: 9 Forumite
    Options
    Okay, so had a few days going with my new budget and so far everything is going pretty well. I've got a big food delivery coming on Sunday and I planned out my entire meals for a month (took AGES) but this means that I have been so much more efficient with my spending but also I will cut out those killer unnecessary trips to the supermarket.