Making money from Creative writing.

Options
Hello all,

I am a first time thread starter and generally it's my first time accepting that I need to do something to sort out my finances.

I've tried lots of money making schemes over the last few years and most I've either ended up failing on or worse losing money. I have resolved to focus on less risky ventures and whilst I try to do the usual Swagbucking, surveys and cashback stuff I want to know what other options are available to earn money, not necessarily instantly.

Now I am currently in the process of writing and novel and novella to self publish on kindle. In the mean time I was wondering if anyone know of any good sites to monetise creative writing or similar content writing. I used to use helium when it was around and keep looking for similar websites. I've looked at hubpages squidoo and elance and unfortunately they seem to be stagnant, at least in my eyes.

I am happy to even do proof reading or similar in an effort to bring in a little extra. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Earn £2016 in 2016: £0! 😂😭😱

Comments

• Flyonthewall
    Flyonthewall Posts: 4,431 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Two important things:
    1. You should write because you enjoy writing, not to make money from it.

If you write because you enjoy it you'll write much better and you'll stand more chance of making the money than if you're writing purely in the hope of getting money.

2. Never pay to join a site.

Hubpages is far from stagnant, but to make money you really need to advertise your pages and knowledge of SEO can be helpful. Squidoo is long gone now, sadly, all pages from there went over to hubpages (for those who wished to save their content). Hubpages is a decent site but even if you write great content, have keywords, advertise and do everything right there's no guarantee you'll get much from it and it takes time.