Mortgage Free by 2026 - I hope!

Having been blissfully debt-free all my life, I'm about to take on a mortgage at the grand old age of 34 - and I want to be rid of if as soon as possible. So welcome to my challenge!

My long term goal is to pay off the mortgage entirely by January 6th, 2026. Ten years seems far longer than necessary, but I know that there will be unexpected hiccups down the road, so estimates need to be realistic. I do not want to set unrealistic targets and then use them to excuse my own failure.

A bit of background - I'm a software developer, my wife works in sales, and we live in London. We got married in July, and we're just about to complete on a house - both as first-time buyers. We have no children as yet, but we hope to change that in due course.

Our mortgage (as of January 5th) is £300,400, on a 5-year fixed at 2.19%. That is an enormous sum, both in absolute terms and relative to our incomes, which is why I want to get rid of it ASAP. We can make annual overpayments of 10%, so that leads me to my medium-term goals:
  • Make this year's maximum overpayment of £30,400.
  • Make maximum (roughly £26,062) overpayment for next year by February 1st 2017.

Once we have taken out the mortgage and paid moving expenses, we will have roughly £35k in cash (we are in a slightly better financial position than we thought when we applied for the mortgage). Of this, £16k will go into a rainy day fund (£6k with TSB at 5%, £5k with Nationwide at 5%, £5k with Lloyds at 4%). This is basically a year's worth of mortgage payments, in instant-access accounts, in case one of us loses our jobs, or we have a financial emergency. Even with tax, this money is still getting a better return than paying off the mortgage. If we ever have to draw down on these accounts, then topping them up will become first priority.