5 years until draw pension- what to do with funds

Options
Hi there
I am after a bit of advice please.
My husband has 5 years left before he needs to be draw his pension. He has 320,000 built up in a small self administered scheme, split between 4 accounts. They are currnetly earning from between nil and 1/2 a per cent. Does anyone know of any bank accounts where he could place funds without taking any risk but eArning a bit more. There seems very few "normal" accounts which will accept funds.
Will be pleased to hear any advice. Thanks

Comments

• Goldiegirl
    Goldiegirl Posts: 8,805 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler Hung up my suit!
    Options
    I think your husband may need to see an IFA, if he wants advice on a pension pot that size.

I'm no expert, but there must be some low risk funds out there, with a better rate of return than he's currently getting

I suppose he could draw down some of his pension now as part of his tax free lump sum and put the money in various high interest current accounts - but he'd need an awful lot of accounts for the sum of money that could be drawn down. Apart from The Santander 123 account where you can earn 3% on £20k, most of the other high interest current accounts have an upper limit of about £2k to £5k for interest earning purposes
    Early retired - 18th December 2014
    If your dreams don't scare you, they're not big enough
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,422 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I think the OP means that the funds in the pension are currently held in cash deposits?
  • zagfles
    zagfles Posts: 20,323 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Chutzpah Haggler
    Options