First attempt at going debt free...and hopefully last!

Options

Comments

• Kitten868
    Kitten868 Posts: 1,785 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I'm a newbie too. I can't see where you £400 a month goes on the SOA - I'm on my phone. £100 on food and £50 on clothes. Is there anyway to reduce this until you're sorted financially?
    I luckily haven't lost out financially to stupid boyfriends, mines from the car from hell (turned out it was an illegal crashed car). So I don't have anything to show for it but regardless have done really well with eBay. Would that help you? Enables me to make payments between pay days which helps me keep going. I have a list for my debts where I focus on the soonest one first then just make minimum payments on the rest. Again would this fit your debts? X
    Loan 1 £5200/£8000
    Loan 2 £300/£5800
    Total £5500/£13800
  • Bex1989
    Options
    HI Kitten, thanks for your post and sorry for the late reply! I was at my boyfriend's over the weekend and while I was able to read my updates, I wasn't able to post because he gives me the frowny face if I'm on my phone too much in his company :D

Realistically, I should redo my SOA. I did it before I'd properly looked at my budget, and guesstimated a lot of it. So in truth, I budget perhaps £10 a week for food (that covers lunches at work and breakfast) then any other meals out or getting a takeaway if I'm at my boyfriends comes out of my "allowance" that I'll be giving myself of £200 a month, which I really won't spend all of, I don't imagine. It'll be a bit of trial and error for the first few months until I get into my groove with pay slips!

How horrible about your car! I can't believe how many people are willing to endanger other people to make a bit of money.