Tomlin Order & Poor Solicitor?

Options
24 years ago, my ex husband and I took out an endowment mortgage for £39,000 to buy a property. We shared all bills 50/50. 4 years later we divorced and sold the property during a major slump and were left with a debt of £10,000. At the time, my ex husband paid the mortgage provider a settlement fee of £2500 as advised by his solicitor, however my own solicitor advised me to ignore all letters from the mortgage provider. I followed this advice and ignored the demands until they stopped. My debt then lay dormant for about 14 years until 6 years ago, when a Tomlin order was raised via Drydens, saying I owed the mortgage provider £38,000. I have been paying £200 a month for the last 6 years and it is crippling me as I have a very low income. My partner of 18 months has recently moved in to my rented property and we are now sharing all financial bills 50/50. Having looked at the Tomlin order situation, he has said that his gut feeling is that something is 'not right' in the fact that:

a) I was advised by my solicitor to ignore the letters from the mortgage provider
and
b) The debt lay dormant for 14 years and has obviously incurred a LOT of interest during that time

My partner has said that he would be willing offer the mortgage provider (Halifax) a final settlement fee in order to relieve me of this monthly burden, however he would like some clarity before doing so. In particular, he feels that I may be due compensation because I was given poor legal advice and/or it was 'unfair' to allow the debt to accumulate to such a large amount without keeping me informed of the potential outcome.

Please advise as I have not slept well for many years and this financial situation has caused me to have anxiety and depression. :(

Comments

• sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,943 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 31 October 2015 at 5:20PM
    Options
    Hi,