At risk of losing job

Options
I'm a bus driver with over 30 years service and at risk of losing my job. Cameras are watching us all the time, management are scrutinising our every move in order to find a flaw and on one occasion they did. I was drinking a cold cup of tea in the cab as I'd run out of water and there were no facilities in the bus station for a drink. I'm being told that this is against company policy but surely this is a matter of health and safety? It was a hot day, I hadn't had a drink for a few hrs and my mouth was dry - there wasn't much I could really do.

If anyone has any advice or any points to bring up during the hearing I'd be ever so grateful.

Comments

• marlot
    marlot Posts: 4,937 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Gosh that sounds harsh. start by looking through the employee handbook (there is one?) To see if there are any rules.

If they do a disciplinary, you're normally allowed to take a workmate or union rep with you.

Hope they see sense!
  • jobbingmusician
    jobbingmusician Posts: 20,343 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Intrepid Forum Explorer
    Options
    Did you know it was against policy? What does the policy actually say?

If you quote the policy we'll be better informed to advise you on arguments etc.....
    I was a board guide here for many years, but have now resigned. Amicably, but I think it reflects very poorly on MSE that I have not even received an acknowledgement of my resignation! Poor show, MSE.

This signature was changed on 6.4.22. This is an experiment to see if anyone from MSE picks up on this comment.
  • DandelionPatrol
    DandelionPatrol Posts: 1,313 Forumite
    Options
    There is a big difference between drinking in the cab, parked up and on the move. Can you tell us which it was, so you get the correct advice?
  • robatwork
    robatwork Posts: 7,105 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options