Property price in 2029

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in N. Ireland
9 replies 1.2K views
jacqui12_2jacqui12_2 Forumite
7 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in N. Ireland
Hi please can anyone help i bought a property in 2005 for 91000 today the propertys value is around 66000 fingers crossed. It is an interest only mortgage and i cannot change because of credit rating and debts due to divorce.

How much would the property be worth in 2029 and how much would i have to save to meet the shortfall supposing there is one.

thank you in advance

Replies

• w00519772w00519772 Forumite
    1.3K Posts
    I wish I had a crystal ball, but I don't. I have read reports suggesting that prices will rise in the medium term ie five years. This is just speculation.

If I were you, then I would save. Maybe get some financial advice. I am no expert. Just my opinion.
  • qwert_yuiopqwert_yuiop Forumite
    3.5K Posts
    Ninth Anniversary 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    That would require annual appreciation of around 3% per year for the next 15 years, every year. Doesn't sound too much when you look at it that way? You do need to avoid any further depreciation or period of stagnation of course.
    I'd keep putting any savings I could into reducing the debt.

Who knows what the world of 2029 will look like? We might all be speaking Russian.
    “What means that trump?” Timon of Athens by William Shakespeare
  • CEON44CEON44 Forumite
    444 Posts
    Ninth Anniversary 100 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭
    Keep watching the index over the years for a guide. It is updated quarterly. From Q1 2014 up to Q1 2015 prices increased by 6% although are slumping again. Of course this is no guide to future performance but keeps you aware. Strange though how prices on mainland UK have now passed the 2008 highs yet here things have remained stagnant. Imminent interest rate rises wont help either

http://www.dfpni.gov.uk/lps/ni_rppi_q1_2015_statistical_report.pdf