Deferred Police Pension

Options
Hi Everyone

I was a Police Officer for 6 years paying into the old Pension Scheme. I resigned in 2011 with a right to claim my pension at 60.(im 34)
In 2013 I married and in 2014 had my daughter.
Ive just been looking through the pension paperwork and come across this statement.

If you die in service or when you are receiving a PPS pension, or after you have left the police service with an entitlement to receive a deferred PPS pension, children’s pensions will be payable to your legitimate or adopted children, but not to the children (including step-children) of a marriage which took place in retirement, nor to children adopted in retirement

Im taking this to mean that should my husband and I both pass away, then my daughter is entitled to nothing? If i passed away, would my husband be entitled to a widowers pension as we married after i left the police?

My husband also has a army pension he paid into for 6 years. Would his be the same?

Im totally clueless about all this and am unsure how to proceed? A friend suggested transferring it into a private pension? I work now and pay into one through them.

Comments

• kidmugsy
    kidmugsy Posts: 12,709 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    edited 10 July 2015 at 2:53PM
    Options
    gibsonsmum wrote: »

If i passed away, would my husband be entitled to a widowers pension as we married after i left the police?

That should be answered in the same paperwork you've just been looking at. Your conclusion about your nipper looks right.

P.S. The posters below have persuaded me that I was wrong about the nipper.
    Free the dunston one next time too.
  • hyubh
    hyubh Posts: 3,534 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    A friend suggested transferring it into a private pension?