Advice for first time buyer

Okay so this is what ive worked out so far, any input i can get would be greatly appreciated.

Property Value - £144950

HTB Equity Loan 20% or £28,990

5% Deposit £7,247.50
5% Builder cash incentive £7,247.50

Mortgage required £101,465

The problem is the decision in principal was for £98,000 and the mortgage required is for £101,465 are we able to top this up with our own cash or would this simply reduce the 5% builder cash incentive were eligible for from bellway who are building the houses?

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,739 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    I think I answered this in your other thread an hour or so ago...

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?p=68077205#post68077205
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • MNM2903
    MNM2903 Posts: 322 Forumite
    First Anniversary Debt-free and Proud!
    Yeah you gave me figures but you had mentioned we would need a deposit of around 10k. Please forgive my stupidity but I'm struggling to understand this as I've worked it out at a lot more. And I'm not sure how it would work with the builder cash incentive.

Are we as buyers putting down £7247.50 which is 5% allowed to fund that more to cover the £3465 as we can only get the mortgage for 98000 not the 101465 and if we did put that extra do the builder cash incentives still give 5%
  • kingstreet
    The HTB equity loan is based on the purchase price you agree with the builder (10% or 20%).

The builder cash incentive is based on the purchase price you agree with the lender (upto 5%).