Do I have to give credit card details on XBox 360?

Options
Hi,

I am new to Xbox 360 (previously been a Wii user). Just trying to play games from disc with my son for the first time but it says that I need to set up a Microsoft Live account, complete with adding my credit card details. This makes me VERY nervous!

Does anyone know:
- do I have to have an account just to play games from discs?
- why do I have to add credit card details?
- is it secure to do so?
- is there an alternative?

Many thanks everyone.

Rroger_D

Comments

• StuC75
    StuC75 Posts: 2,065 Forumite
    Options
    Alternative is to use top up cards to open the account, or alternatively you can set billing to use Paypal details..

granted systems may always be hacked (cue psn a few years ago), but the biggest risk from putting the details tends to be:

1- Renewals at a higher price - eg 12 months is 39 on xbox I think, but can be bought on cdkeys website for about 25 (give or take)..

2- in game purchases made my kids that use your console - an access code can be used to authorise your purchases and require the card security code etc..

Ive been on xbox live since the very first xbox console, have had my details on there and have never had any problems at all - just ensure you set up the security details..
    any details added can be removed later using the Microsoft billing website, and is often to confirm that an adult has setup the account (i.e. age appropriate content on games)..

there is gold level of accounts (online multiplayer & extra content), although silver accounts can be setup which are free..
  • Rroger_D
    Rroger_D Posts: 9 Forumite
    Options
    Hi thanks StuC,

Do you know if I HAVE to have a live account IE if I don't intend purchasing games online? What is the live account used for other than this? Would I be charged for communicating with friends within games for example?

Sorry if all of this sounds dumb, but I totally new to all of this. :undecided

Thanks.