PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Tannin stain on teacups

Options
I have been using value washing powder in my dishwasher for six months now without any problems apart from my teacups - I cannot get the tannin stain out of them without either doing it manually or soaking in bleach.
Is there an OS way of getting the tannin stains off my china?
Valerie

Comments

• Seakay
    Seakay Posts: 4,265 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    rubbing with fine salt on a damp cloth is good. If you want something less manual then you could try denture tablets - method is here:
    http://interiordec.about.com/od/chinaandcrystal/ht/cleanteapot.htm
  • thriftmonster
    thriftmonster Posts: 1,713 Forumite
    First Post Photogenic First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Soaking overnight in biological washing powder also does the trick - save up a batch of cups and a teapot. Needs rinsing very well though!!!!!!!!!!
    “the princess jumped from the tower & she learned that she could fly all along. she never needed those wings.”
    Amanda Lovelace, The Princess Saves Herself in this One
  • student100
    student100 Posts: 1,059 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Just use proper dishwasher detergent in the first place? :confused:
    student100 hasn't been a student since 2007...
  • free4440273
    free4440273 Posts: 38,438 Forumite
    Options
    lemon juice (just use what's left over) is quite good also with a little bit of washing up liquid - makes them smell awfully nice too
    BLOODBATH IN THE EVENING THEN? :shocked: OR PERHAPS THE AFTERNOON? OR THE MORNING? OH, FORGET THIS MALARKEY!

THE KILLERS :cool: